*LEARN BOATER SAFETY*
If youre a boat owner, considering the purchase of a boat, or even if you just plan to rent a boat, be prepared and know the rules of the waterways. In fact, its not only good advice Ã¢â‚¬â€ its required in Florida that boat operators born in 1988 or later must take a recognized safe boating course. Successful completion earns a Florida boater card that is issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission.
Boat/power water craft renters are required by law to have a boater education ID card and must carry the card or its equivalent before a facility may rent to them.
U. S. Coast Guard Auxiliary 14-7, St. Augustine, will conduct a one-day qualifying course, Ã¢â‚¬Å“About Boating Safely, on Aug. 5 starting at 7:45 a.m. at the Northeast Florida Regional Airport Conference Center, 4730 Casa Cola Way off U.S. 1. Future courses will be conducted on Sept. 9 and Nov. 4. The cost is $30 for materials for an individual or $40 for a couple.